General Rules of the Club

  1. That this club be called Eastbourne Rovers Cycling Club and that the headquarters of the club be at such place as shall be determined by the committee from time to time.
  2. The club colours shall be yellow, white and black and the design shall be as decided by the committee from time to time after taking into consideration the views of the club members.
  3. That this club be affiliated to Cycling Time Trials, British Cycling and other bodies as decided by the committee.
  4. Membership of the club to consist of senior, junior, juvenile, second claim and associate members.
  5. The annual subscription shall be as decided at the Annual General Meeting.  All subscriptions to become due on 1st January each year.  Subscriptions of new members joining after 1st November shall be deemed to cover membership for the ensuing year.
  6. No member whose subscription is in arrears is eligible to take part in any competition promoted by the club.
  7. Second claim members may take part in any club event and receive any awards that may be offered with the exception of the club’s perpetual trophies.
  8. The principle officers of the club shall consist of President, Vice Presidents, Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, Welfare Officer and Racing Secretaries (open time trial, club time trial, road and track).  Other officers, and members to serve on the committee, may be appointed as deemed necessary at the Annual General Meeting.
  9. A member may only hold the position of President for a maximum of three consecutive years.  This would not preclude that member from being elected President again in the future.
  10. When a committee member has been absent from three consecutive meetings or acted in a way that the committee may think objectionable, failing an explanation which is satisfactory to the remainder of that committee, the member shall lose his or her seat on the committee.  The committee shall have the power to fill any vacancy on the committee.
  11. A committee meeting shall consist of a quorum of at least seven members of the committee, of which at least two shall be officers of the club.  The committee shall have the power to form sub committees for any purpose.
  12. All trophies and equipment owned by the club, and any that may be acquired in the future, shall be the property of the club.  The responsibility for the maintenance and safe keeping thereof shall rest with the committee.
  13. All cheques to be signed by any two authorised committee members nominated to the bank.
  14. The club’s financial year shall end on 31 October and the Annual General Meeting shall be held within eight weeks of this date.
  15. Any member wishing to resign from the club shall give notice in writing to the Secretary.
  16. The Secretary shall keep a roll of all members and shall send out the requisite notice of all meetings and shall have the power to call a committee meeting on the written request of two members.
  17. Any member violating the general rules of the club or acting in any way that members may think objectionable may be expelled from the club at the discretion of the committee.
  18. These general rules shall be subject to alterations or amendments at the Annual General Meeting, due notice of such meeting together with such alterations or amendments to the general rules having been sent to all members by the Secretary fourteen days prior to the meeting.
  19. All alterations and amendments to the general rules shall require the assent of two thirds of the members present at the annual or special general meeting.
  20. Any member desirous of altering a general rule, or proposing a new one, shall send notice in writing to the Secretary at least twenty one days before such a meeting.
  21. In all cases of voting, where the votes are equal, the Chairman shall have the casting vote.